Review: Girl of Myth and Legend

girl of myth and fire.PNG

Welcome back, bookies (you reading-obsessed individuals)!

I just finished reading a great book that left me craving more. Let me give you the facts before I continue.

Title: Girl of Myth and Legend (Also known as: GOMAL)
Author: Giselle Simlett
Genre: Fantasy, Sci-Fi, YA

And now you must want to know what the book is about, right? Well, I live to serve so here you go:

A girl with a past she tries to forget, and a future she can’t even imagine.

Leonie Woodville wants to live an unremarkable life. She wants routine, she wants repetition, she wants predictability. So when she explodes in a blaze of light one morning on the way to her college, it’s enough to put a real crimp in her day.

And things only get weirder…

Leonie learns from her father that she is last of the Pulsar, a phenomenally powerful member of a magical species called the Chosen. It will be her sole duty to protect the Imperium, a governing hierarchy, from all enemies, and to exceed the reputation of the Pulsar before her. So – no pressure there, then.

Leonie is swept away from her rigorous normality and taken to a world of magic. There, she is forced into a ceremony to join her soul to a guardian, Korren, who is both incredibly handsome and intensely troubled, a relationship for which ‘it’s complicated’ just really doesn’t cut it.

But Leonie is soon to learn that this ancient world is no paradise. With violent dissidents intent to overthrow the Imperium, and dark entities with their own agenda, she and Korren find themselves caught in a war where they will have to overcome their differences if they are to survive.

Dare to dream. Dare to hope. Dare to be a legend.

Now on to my p.o.v. on this book. I loved it. I think I can officially say I’m hooked. Now, I won’t say this book is perfect. The beginning of the book can be a little…awkward. I think too much is jammed into to few pages and that feels a bit forced. Kind of like when books have an intro like: “My name is so-and-so. I look like this. Now my story is…” It’s not bad. You’re just a very conscious reader at that point. Not part of the world, just an outside observer. This book doesn’t begin like that, of course. It just has the same sort of effect. On the plus side though, it’s not a slow beginning.

Want to know how it starts? Imagine you in your normal life. All of a sudden, you feel a lot of pain and black out. Now your dad with whom your relationship is strained tells you that you have powers, but before he can tell you what it’s all about and why, lo and behold, here come some people to take you to a different world for “training”. Only once you’re there, you realize you aren’t just any normal person with powers; you are a “special” person with powers even in this new world. Yup, that’s basically the beginning in a nutshell.

But you might be surprised at how quickly you warm up to the story. I know I was. I thought the whole book would be like the beginning. Nope. It slows down and starts to do a little world-building and character development. That’s when you really get into it.

This book is told from 2 different points of views. It is seen from Leonie’s perspective and Korren’s perspective. The author introduces Korren early on. It reminded me a little of Beauty and the Beast, with Korren being the Beast. He is definitely a tortured soul and something that I am hoping to see in the second book is more about Korren’s past, since he has a very sad history that has completely shaped his life, but he is an eternal being. I know, I know. It sounds complicated, but it’s not. Leonie’s past is what makes them sympathize with each other and work together. The author tries to play it off like they just get along, but I definitely see the blossoming romance she is probably holding off for book 2.

So now a side-by-side comparison of the pros and cons. Pros:

Fantasy world, mythical creatures, powers, developing friendship, tragic pasts all join together for an incredibly fast-paced and action-packed story. I think nearly character presented so far is pretty interesting and could have their own novellas or even separate series to explain their past.

Cons:

NOT ENOUGH DETAILS!!!

frustrated confused

Ok, I understand that the author wants to leave some things to be explained in future books, but even like that I feel that there are way too many unanswered questions. I want to know about Leonie’s mom, dad, friend, Korren, Korren’s previous masters, more about the world, the society, where/how this world exists, the effects of each of the worlds on each other, the history of this new world, how many different powers there are, why there are powers, more about the “normal” people of this new world, if there even are “normal” people in this world, etc.

However, because there are these unanswered questions, you are firmly hooked… So I guess the author did her job right… To sum it all up, I give this book 4/5 stars for what it does manage to do and I hope that the coming books will satisfy my curiosity.

What do you think, bookies? Would you read this book? Would you wait for more books of the series to come out first? Tell us in the comments! We really want to know.

Author: hardcoverlover

This avid reader enjoys many hobbies such as writing, drawing, learning languages, swimming, and learning in general. Her main hobby though, will always be reading! Stay tuned for more posts if you can't get enough of books too!

Leave a Reply

